Wax on, Wax off – Part I

You wouldn’t know it based on this windy weather lately but summer is almost here! And with the sunshine we are all baring more skin. This is often the time of year when I get lots of questions about waxing so I thought I’d do a two-part post on the basics. The first thing to figure out is what parts of your body you want or need waxed. Of course, there’s the brow and upper lip but in the summer more clients like to do their armpits, bikini area and legs. Some people do this all year because it makes it easier and you don’t have to go through the unpleasantness of starting all over again. Waxing gets easier and less painful when it’s maintained then when you start and stop.

When you first start getting waxed, frequency is important. Maintaining a regimen over time will allow you to begin to go longer in between appointments because there is less hair and it gets finer. Waxing essentially retards the hair follicle in addition to the fact that your hair begins to grow more at the same rate. When you start you will typically need appointments every 10 days to two weeks. I speak from experience. Let me just say, I was a hairy girl! When I started waxing I needed to go every 10 days but now I can go three weeks without worrying about it!

In Part II of Wax On, Wax Off, I’ll give you all the details you need to be prepared for your first wax!

Leave a comment

Filed under Skin Treatments

Leave a Reply

